:: A- :: A+ :: Accessibility :: Sitemap :: Contact :: Imprint
Flag of the Federal Republic of Germany Exterior view of the German Reichstag, the country's historic seat of parliament in Berlin Plenary Chamber of the German Bundestag Plenary Chamber of the European Parliament Exterior view of the European Parliament in Strasbourg Flag of the European Union
:: Deutsch

 

Legal definition and conceptual characteristics

In Section 2 Paragraph 1, the Act on Political Parties defines the term “political party” as follows (legal definition):

“Parties are associations of citizens which exert influence permanently or for longer periods of time on the formation of the political will at federal or Land level and participate in the representation of the people in the German Bundestag or regional parliaments (Landtag) provided that they offer sufficient guarantee of the sincerity of their aims in the general character of their circumstances and attendant conditions, particularly with regard to the size and strength of their organization, their memberships and their conduct in public.”

According to that definition, a political party is an association of citizens intending to influence government decision-making to a certain effect with the help of their own organisation and to send representatives to the parliaments for that purpose. The party concept thus necessarily entails an association’s will to participate in elections at federal or Land level.

1. Association

As regards their organisational structure, political parties have to be organised groups of persons who have voluntarily joined for a longer period of time to pursue a common purpose, submitting to the will of the group. The definition of the legal concept of association or corporate association excludes from political party status for instance action groups formed by political parties or by parties and other associations.

2. Representation of the people in parliament

Only associations whose activities aim at participation in representing the people in central or regional government are deemed to be political parties. Whether an association pursues such a purpose is determined not only by its statutes and programmatic statements but primarily by its actual behaviour. The major precondition for aspiring to represent the people in parliament within the meaning of Article 2 Paragraph 1 of the Political Parties Act participation in the elections to central or regional government. The “representation of the people” within the meaning of Section 2 Paragraph 1 of the Political Parties Act also entails that the political party induces its members in parliament to form political groups for joint action – generally these are parliamentary groups – and exerts a certain influence on their activities.

3. Exclusion of local political associations, foreigners’ and extraterritorial parties

Section 2 Paragraph 1 of the Political Parties Act excludes from political party status all local parties and local associations of voters, even if they are organised supra-regionally. In accordance with Section 2 Paragraph 3, the following are not deemed to be political parties under German party legislation, either:

4. Parliamentary representation as a permanent goal                                                                            

Section 2 Paragraph 1 of the Political Parties Act requires that representation in parliament be a goal pursued permanently or at least for a longer period of time. The intention to participate in elections only once does not suffice to obtain political party status. The intention to represent the people in parliament on a permanent basis is proven after a certain starting period by regular or at least sporadic participation in Bundestag or Land Parliament elections. If individual elections are left out, this does not affect the political party status. According to Section 2 Paragraph 2 of the Political Parties Act, an organisation loses its legal status as a party only when the intention has not been realised for a period of six years.

5. Parliamentary representation as a sincere goal

The Act on Political Parties bestows political party status only “provided that they offer sufficient guarantee of the sincerity of their aims in the general character of their circumstances and attendant conditions, particularly with regard to the size and strength of their organization, their memberships and their conduct in public”.

 

 

©2014 The Federal Returning Officer

:: A- :: A+ :: Barrierefreiheit :: Seitenübersicht :: Kontakt :: Impressum
Flagge der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Außenansicht des Deutschen Reichstages in Berlin Plenarsaal des Deutschen Bundestages Plenarsaal des Europäischen Parlaments Außenansicht des Europäischen Parlaments in Straßburg Flagge der Europäischen Union
:: English

Legaldefinition und Begriffsmerkmale

Das Parteiengesetz definiert den Begriff der Partei in § 2 Absatz 1 wie folgt (Legaldefinition):

„Parteien sind Vereinigungen von Bürgern, die dauernd oder für längere Zeit für den Bereich des Bundes oder eines Landes auf die politische Willensbildung Einfluss nehmen und an der Vertretung des Volkes im Deutschen Bundestag oder einem Landtag mitwirken wollen, wenn sie nach dem Gesamtbild der tatsächlichen Verhältnisse, insbesondere nach Umfang und Festigkeit ihrer Organisation, nach der Zahl ihrer Mitglieder und nach ihrem Hervortreten in der Öffentlichkeit eine ausreichende Gewähr für die Ernsthaftigkeit dieser Zielsetzung bieten.“

Nach dieser Definition handelt es sich bei einer Partei um eine Vereinigung von Staatsbürgern, die mit Hilfe einer eigenen Organisation in einem bestimmten Sinne Einfluss auf die staatliche Willensbildung nehmen und zu diesem Zweck Vertreter in die Parlamente senden will. Zum Begriff der Partei gehört also zwingend der Wille der Vereinigung, an Wahlen in Bund oder Ländern teilzunehmen.

1. Vereinigung

Organisatorisch müssen Parteien den Charakter von organisierten Personenmehrheiten haben, die sich für längere Zeit zu einem gemeinsamen Zweck freiwillig zusammengeschlossen und einem Gesamtwillen unterworfen haben. Mit der Festlegung auf den Rechtsbegriff der Vereinigung bzw. körperschaftlichen Vereinigung sind z.B. Aktionsgemeinschaften zwischen Parteien oder Parteien und sonstigen Vereinigungen vom Parteienstatus ausgeschlossen.

2. Parlamentarische Vertretung des Volkes

Parteien sind nur diejenigen Vereinigungen, deren Tätigkeit darauf gerichtet ist, an der Vertretung des Volkes in den staatlichen Volksvertretungsorganen mitzuwirken. Ob eine Vereinigung einen solchen Zweck hat, bestimmt sich nicht nur nach ihrer Satzung und nach ihren programmatischen Erklärungen, sondern vor allem nach ihrem tatsächlichen Verhalten. Wichtigste Voraussetzung erstrebter parlamentarischer Vertretung des Volkes im Sinne von § 2 Absatz 1 des Parteiengesetzes ist die Teilnahme an den Wahlen zu den staatlichen Volksvertretungsorganen. Zur „Vertretung des Volkes“ im Sinne des § 2 Absatz 1 des Parteiengesetzes gehört ferner, dass die Partei ihre Abgeordneten veranlasst, sich zu parlamentarischen Handlungseinheiten – in der Regel Fraktionen – zusammenzuschließen und einen gewissen Einfluss auf ihre Tätigkeit nimmt.

3. Ausschluss kommunalpolitischer Vereinigungen, Ausländer- und Exterritorialparteien

Ausgeschlossen vom Parteienstatus sind durch § 2 Absatz 1 des Parteiengesetzes Kommunalparteien und alle kommunalen Wählervereinigungen, auch dann, wenn sie überregional organisiert sind. Ebenfalls keine Parteien im Sinne des deutschen Parteienrechts sind nach § 2 Absatz  3 des Parteiengesetzes

4. Dauerhaftes Streben nach parlamentarischer Vertretung

§ 2 Absatz 1 des Parteiengesetzes verlangt, dass die parlamentarische Vertretung für dauernd oder wenigstens für längere Zeit angestrebt wird. Die Absicht einmaliger Wahlbeteiligung genügt nicht zum Erwerb der Parteieigenschaft. Die Absicht dauernder parlamentarischer Vertretung wird nach Ablauf einer gewissen Startperiode durch regelmäßige oder doch wenigstens sporadische Teilnahme an Bundestags- oder Landtagswahlen erwiesen. Das Auslassen einzelner Wahlen beeinträchtigt den Parteienstatus nicht. Erst wenn es 6 Jahre bei der Absicht bleibt, tritt nach § 2 Absatz 2 des Parteiengesetzes ein Verlust der Parteieigenschaft ein.

5. Ernsthaftigkeit des Strebens nach parlamentarischer Vertretung

Das Parteiengesetz räumt Vereinigungen die Parteieigenschaft nur ein, „wenn sie nach dem Gesamtbild der tatsächlichen Verhältnisse, insbesondere nach Umfang und Festigkeit ihrer Organisation nach der Zahl ihrer Mitglieder und nach ihrem Hervortreten in der Öffentlichkeit eine ausreichende Gewähr für die Ernsthaftigkeit dieser Zielsetzung bieten.
 

©2014 Der Bundeswahlleiter