European Parliament election 2019

Electoral system

The members of the European Parliament are elected in each member state by a system of proportional representation on the basis of lists or single transferable votes. The member states can permit preferential voting on the basis of lists in line with the terms they have specified.

In Germany, members are elected in accordance with the principles of proportional representation based on Land lists of candidates. There may be Land lists of candidates for individual Länder or one list for all Länder.

96 European Parliament members come from the Federal Republic of Germany. According to the decision of the European Council of 29 June 2018 Brexit will have no impact on this.


Determination of results

Chart: Establishment of the election result
File size: 65.75 kB

Distribution of seats