European Parliament election 2019

9th European Parliament election 2019

Please note

The election date is not fixed yet. It will be published on this page as soon as it is determined.

In 2019 the citizens of the European Union will elect the European Parliament for the ninth time.

This election is not based on uniform European election legislation but on national electoral acts. The European Elections Act and the European Electoral Regulations govern the election procedure in the Federal Republic of Germany.

 

Election date

The period during which a European election must be held is determined by the electoral term and, more specifically, by the period prescribed by law.

Elections to the European Parliament are held every five years. In accordance with Section 7 of the European Elections Act, the Federal Government determines the exact date for the election from a period fixed by the Council of the European Union in keeping with Articles 10 and 11 of the Act concerning the Election of the Representatives of the European Parliament by Direct Universal Suffrage (Federal Law Gazette II of 1977 p. 733) – or Direct Elections Act, as it is called.

As a rule, the period is the same in all members states, from a Thursday to the following Sunday, to guarantee that the various election traditions of the member states can be maintained. In most member states, elections are held on a Sunday or a public holiday like in Germany, while in Great Britain and the Netherlands, for example, polling stations are open on Thursdays.

In accordance with Article 11 (2), first sentence, of the Direct Elections Act, European elections are held in the last year of the five-year electoral term, during a period corresponding to that of the first European elections. The first European elections were held from 7 to 10 June 1979. A glance at the calendar of June 2019 reveals that the election period lasting from Thursday to Sunday would have to be from 6 to 9 June to ensure that at least one of the election dates in the member states would be within the above period.

However, if it proves impossible to hold the elections in the Community during that period, it may be brought forward or postponed through a unanimous Council decision taken after consulting the European Parliament (Article 11 (2), second sentence, of the Direct Elections Act). Such a decision should be taken at least one year before the electoral term ends. So far there have been only three such decisions, one concerning the second (1984) and one the third European elections (1989), postponing the electoral period by one week each time, and one concerning the eighth European election (2014), bringing forward the electoral period by two weeks.
 

In accordance with a decision taken by the Council of the European Union on 22 May 2018, the next European Parliament elections will be held in the period from 23 to 26 May 2019. Prior to that, the Council of the European Union had decided on 20 March 2018 to consult the European Parliament, which approved the draft Council decision by resolution of 18 April 2018. For the election year of 2019, the election dates were again brought forward by two weeks. The Federal Government still has to set the date for the election in Germany.

See also:
Decision taken by the Council of the European Union on 20 March 2018
Resolution of the European Parliament of 18 April 2018
Decision taken by the Council of the European Union on 22 May 2018

 

Irrespective of the final date of the poll, elections to the assemblies of party delegates may be held not earlier than 12 months and elections of candidates not earlier than nine months before the beginning of the year for which the elections to the European Parliament have been scheduled (Section 10 (3), fourth sentence, of the European Elections Act). This means that concerning the European election 2019 intra-party elections to the assemblies of party delegates may have been carried out since 1 January 2018 and elections of candidates may be held from 1 April 2018.

The lists for a Land and joint lists for all Länder have to be submitted in written form to the Federal Returning Officer on the 83rd day before the election  by 6 p.m. at the latest (Section 11 (1) of the European Elections Act).

Europawahl 2019

Wahl zum 9. Europäischen Parlament
am 26. Mai 2019

Vom 23. bis 26. Mai 2019 wählen die Bürgerinnen und Bürger der Europäischen Union zum neunten Mal das Europäische Parlament. Die Bundesregierung hat am 19. September 2018 als Wahltermin für die Europawahl in Deutschland den 26. Mai 2019 bestimmt (siehe hierzu "Bekanntmachung des Wahltages für die Europawahl 2019" vom 8. Oktober 2018 (BGBl. I S. 1646)).

Die Wahl zum Europäischen Parlament erfolgt nicht nach einem einheitlichen europäischen Wahlrecht, sondern nach nationalen Wahlgesetzen. Das Europawahlgesetz und die Europawahlordnung regeln das Wahlverfahren in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland.

 

Der Wahltermin

Der Zeitraum, in dem eine Europawahl stattfinden muss, bestimmt sich zunächst durch die Wahlperiode und genauer durch den gesetzlich festgelegten Zeitraum.

Die Wahlen zum Europäischen Parlament finden alle fünf Jahre statt. Gemäß § 7 Europawahlgesetz bestimmt die Bundesregierung den genauen Wahltermin im Rahmen einer vom Rat der Europäischen Union und im Rahmen der in den Artikeln 10 und 11 des Aktes zur Einführung allgemeiner und unmittelbarer Wahlen der Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments (BGBl. 1977 II, Seite 733) – sogenannter Direktwahlakt – festgelegten Zeitspanne.

Die Zeitspanne erstreckt sich grundsätzlich auf einen für alle Mitgliedstaaten gleichen Zeitraum von Donnerstag bis Sonntag, um zu gewährleisten, dass die verschiedenen Wahltraditionen in den Mitgliedstaaten beibehalten werden können. In den meisten Mitgliedstaaten wird wie in Deutschland an einem Sonntag oder gesetzlichen Feiertag gewählt, in Großbritannien und in den Niederlanden werden die Wahllokale aber zum Beispiel donnerstags geöffnet.

Die Europawahlen finden gemäß Artikel 11 Absatz 2 Satz 1 Direktwahlakt in dem der ersten Europawahl entsprechenden Zeitraum des letzten Jahres der fünfjährigen Wahlperiode statt. Der Zeitraum der ersten Europawahl lag zwischen dem 7. und 10. Juni 1979. Ein Blick auf den Kalender des Monats Juni 2019 führt zu dem Ergebnis, dass für den Wahlzeitraum von Donnerstag bis Sonntag nur die Zeit zwischen dem 6. und 9. Juni 2019 in Frage kommt, damit zumindest einer der Wahltage in den Mitgliedstaaten innerhalb des oben genannten Zeitraums liegt.

Sofern es sich jedoch als unmöglich erweisen sollte, die Wahlen während dieses Zeitraums in der Gemeinschaft abzuhalten, ist es nach Anhörung des Europäischen Parlaments möglich, den Wahlzeitraum durch einen einstimmigen Beschluss des Rates zu verlegen (Artikel 11 Absatz 2 Satz 2 des Direktwahlakts). Ein entsprechender Beschluss soll mindestens ein Jahr vor Ablauf der Wahlperiode gefasst werden. Bisher gab es drei derartige Beschlüsse, nämlich einen für die zweite (1984) und einen für die dritte (1989) Europawahl, durch die der Wahlzeitraum jeweils um eine Woche nach hinten verlegt wurde, sowie einen für die achte Europawahl (2014), durch den der Wahlzeitraum um zwei Wochen vorverlegt wurde.
 

Nach einem Beschluss des Rates der Europäischen Union vom 22. Mai 2018 findet die kommende Wahl zum Europäischen Parlament vom 23. bis 26. Mai 2019 statt. Zuvor wurde mit Beschluss des Rates der Europäischen Union vom 20.März 2018 das Europäische Parlament angehört, das mit Entschließung vom 18. April 2018 den Entwurf des Rates der Europäischen Union gebilligt hat. Damit wurde auch für das Wahljahr 2019 der Wahltermin um zwei Wochen vorverlegt.

Siehe auch:
Beschluss des Rates der Europäischen Union vom 20. März 2018
Entschließung des Europäischen Parlaments vom 18. April 2018
Beschluss des Rates der Europäischen Union vom 22. Mai 2018
 

Von dem konkreten Wahltermin unabhängig dürfen die Wahlen der Vertreterinnen und Vertreter für die Vertreterversammlungen nicht früher als 12 Monate, die Wahlen der Bewerberinnen und Bewerber nicht früher als neun Monate vor Beginn des Jahres durchgeführt werden, in dem die Wahl des Europäischen Parlamentes ansteht (§ 10 Absatz 3 Satz 4 Europawahlgesetz). Bezogen auf die Europawahl 2019 können also frühestens seit dem 1. Januar 2018 die innerparteilichen Wahlen der Vertreterinnen und Vertreter für die Vertreterversammlungen und ab dem 1. April 2018 die Wahlen der Bewerberinnen und Bewerber durchgeführt werden.

Die Listen für ein Bundesland und gemeinsame Listen für alle Länder sind beim Bundeswahlleiter spätestens am 83. Tage vor der Wahl bis 18:00 Uhr schriftlich einzureichen (§ 11 Absatz 1 Europawahlgesetz).