Services

Clause on the minimum number of constituency seats required for party representation in Parliament

When the seats are distributed among the parties’ Land lists, such parties shall also be taken into consideration as have not obtained at least five per cent of the valid second votes cast in the electoral area (restrictive clause) but have won a seat in at least three constituencies (in the 1953 Bundestag Election, a single constituency was sufficient).

The clause has applied in three Bundestag elections so far:

  • 1953 Bundestag Election:

The Deutsche Partei (DP) had obtained a mere 3.3 % of the valid second votes but was represented by altogether 15 deputies in the German Bundestag because it had won 10 constituencies. The Deutsche Zentrumspartei had received 0.8 % of the valid second votes and one constituency seat and entered parliament with a total of 3 members.

  • 1957 Bundestag Election:

In the 1957 Bundestag Election the DP obtained only 3.4 % of the valid second votes but won 6 constituency seats. As a consequence, it participated in the allocation of seats on the basis of Land lists and received 17 seats altogether.

  • 1994 Bundestag Election:

The PDS won 4 constituency seats and 4.4 % of the valid second votes. It was assigned 26 Land list seats.

Parties which have won less than three constituency seats are not included in the distribution of Land list seats. In the 2002 Bundestag Election the PDS managed to secure 4.0 % of the valid second votes. With two constituencies won and thus two seats in the German Bundestag it did, however, not participate in the distribution of Land list seats.

As the Federal Constitutional Court declared the provisions of Section 2 (7) of the European Elections Act invalid on 9 November 2011 and on 26 February 2014, the five per cent clause (respectively the three per cent clause) cease to apply from the 2014 European Election for European Elections in Germany.

Legal bases

Section 6 (3) of the Federal Elections Act (BWG)

Last update: 1 July 2016

Service

Grundmandatsklausel

Bei der Verteilung der Sitze auf die Landeslisten der Parteien werden auch Parteien berücksichtigt, die nicht die 5-%-Hürde (Sperrklausel) überwunden haben, aber in mindestens drei Wahlkreisen (bei der Bundestagswahl 1953 genügte noch ein Wahlkreis) einen Sitz errungen haben.

Die Grundmandatsklausel kam in der Vergangenheit bisher bei drei Bundestagswahlen zum Tragen:

  • Bundestagswahl 1953:

Die Deutsche Partei (DP) erzielte lediglich 3,3 % der gültigen Zweitstimmen, zog aber mit insgesamt 15 Abgeordneten in den Deutschen Bundestag ein, weil sie in 10 Wahlkreisen gewonnen hatte. Die Deutsche Zentrumspartei gewann 0,8 % der gültigen Zweitstimmen und ein Direktmandat und zog mit insgesamt 3 Abgeordneten in das Parlament ein.

  • Bundestagswahl 1957:

Bei der Bundestagswahl 1957 konnte die DP nur 3,4 % der gültigen Zweitstimmen erreichen, sie erzielte jedoch 6 Direktmandate. Sie partizipierte daher an der Verteilung der Landeslistensitze und erhielt insgesamt 17 Abgeordnetensitze.

  • Bundestagswahl 1994:

Die PDS gewann 4 Direktmandate und 4,4 % der gültigen Zweitstimmen. Ihr wurden 26 Landeslistensitze zugeteilt.

Parteien, die weniger als drei Direktmandate gewinnen, werden nicht in die Verteilung der Landeslistensitze einbezogen: Bei der Bundestagswahl 2002 konnte die PDS 4,0 % der gültigen Zweitstimmen auf sich vereinen. Mit dem Gewinn von zwei Wahlkreisen und damit zwei Sitzen im Deutschen Bundestag nahm sie aber nicht an der Verteilung der Landeslistensitze teil.

Da das Bundesverfassungsgericht die der Sperrklausel von 5 bzw. 3 % zugrunde liegende Vorschrift des § 2 Absatz 7 Europawahlgesetz am 9. November 2011 für nichtig erklärt hat, gibt es seit der Europawahl 2014 bei Europawahlen keine Sperrklausel mehr.

Rechtsgrundlagen

§ 6 Abs. 3 BWG

Stand: 1. Juli 2016