Services

Voters’ register

For Bundestag and European elections, municipal authorities maintain registers of the people who are eligible to vote. The voters' register defines the group of persons formally entitled to vote on the basis of the residents' register maintained by the municipal authority. When the voters' register is compiled, people entitled to vote who hold German citizenship will ex officio be entered in the voters' register only if they were registered with the residents' registration office on the 42nd day before election. In European elections, this also applies to Union citizens entitled to vote and registered with the residents' registration office who, upon application, were entered in a voters’ register for the European election of 13 June 1999 or for a later election. Persons eligible to vote with a new abode in the electoral area or moving house who register with the residents' registration office after the 42nd and before the 21st day before election will be entered in the voters' register of their new place of residence only upon application. Persons entitled to vote who are not on the residents’ register (for instance Germans abroad, homeless persons) will also be entered in the voters’ register if they have filed an application for entry until the 21st day before election.  

Anyone on a voters’ register must have received a voter’s notification from the municipal authority no later than the 21st day before election. Those who have not received a voter's notification by then should contact their municipal authority without delay.  

All those entitled to vote have the right to verify that their data in the voters’ register are correct and complete. They may consult the voters' register for that purpose on the workdays from the 20th to the 16th day before election during normal opening hours. Persons entitled to vote have the right to consult the voters' register to check the data of other persons on the register only if they can produce facts suggesting that the voters’ register may be incorrect or incomplete. The right to consult the voters' register does not apply to data of persons entitled to vote against whose names restriction notes have been entered in the residents' register in accordance with Section 51 subsection (1) of the Federal Registration Act. Anyone who deems the voters’ register incorrect or incomplete may file an objection with the municipal authority during the public display period.  

If a person has been wrongfully omitted from the voters’ register and if an amendment is not possible anymore, he or she will receive a polling card on application.  

Persons eligible to vote who have by mistake been entered in several voters’ registers, for example due to their moving house shortly before the election, may exercise their right to vote only once.

Legal bases

Bundestag election:

Section 14 (4) of the Federal Elections Act (BWG)
Section 17 of the Federal Elections Act (BWG)
Sections 14 to 24 of the Federal Electoral Regulations (BWO)

European election:

Section 6 (4) of the European Elections Act (EuWG)
Section 4 of the European Elections Act
  in conjunction with Section 17 of the Federal Elections Act
Sections 14 to 18 of the European Electoral Regulations (EuWO)

Last update: 1 June 2018

Service

Wählerverzeichnis

Über die Wahlberechtigten für Bundestags- und Europawahlen führt die Gemeinde ein Wählerverzeichnis. Durch das Wählerverzeichnis wird der Kreis der formell wahlberechtigten Personen festgelegt. Grundlage dafür ist das bei der Gemeinde geführte Einwohnermelderegister. Bei der Aufstellung des Wählerverzeichnisses werden von Amts wegen nur wahlberechtigte Personen mit deutscher Staatsangehörigkeit berücksichtigt, die am 42. Tag vor der Wahl bei der Meldebehörde gemeldet sind. Bei Europawahlen gilt dies außerdem für gemeldete wahlberechtigte Unionsbürger, die auf ihren Antrag hin bei der Europawahl vom 13. Juni 1999 oder einer späteren Wahl in ein Wählerverzeichnis eintragen wurden. Wahlberechtigte, die nach dem 42. und vor dem 21. Tag vor der Wahl eine neue Wohnung im Wahlgebiet begründen oder ihre Wohnung verlegen und sich bei der Meldebehörde anmelden, werden in das Wählerverzeichnis des neuen Wohnortes nur auf Antrag eingetragen. Außerdem werden nicht im Einwohnermelderegister geführte Wahlberechtigte (z.B. Deutsche im Ausland, Obdachlose) in das Wählerverzeichnis eingetragen, wenn sie bis zum 21. Tag vor der Wahl einen Antrag auf Eintragung in das Wählerverzeichnis gestellt haben.  

Wer in ein Wählerverzeichnis eingetragen ist, muss bis spätestens am 21. Tag vor der Wahl von der Gemeindebehörde eine Wahlbenachrichtigung erhalten haben. Wer bis zu diesem Zeitpunkt keine Wahlbenachrichtigung erhalten hat, sollte sich umgehend mit der Gemeindebehörde in Verbindung setzen.  

Jede wahlberechtigte Person hat das Recht, an den Werktagen vom 20. bis zum 16. Tag vor der Wahl während der allgemeinen Öffnungszeiten die Richtigkeit oder Vollständigkeit der zu seiner Person im Wählerverzeichnis eingetragenen Daten zu überprüfen. Zur Überprüfung der Daten von anderen im Wählerverzeichnis eingetragenen Personen haben Wahlberechtigte nur dann ein Recht auf Einsicht in das Wählerverzeichnis, wenn sie Tatsachen glaubhaft machen, aus denen sich eine Unrichtigkeit oder Unvollständigkeit des Wählerverzeichnisses ergeben kann. Das Recht zur Einsicht in das Wählerverzeichnis besteht nicht hinsichtlich der Daten von Wahlberechtigten für die im Melderegister ein Sperrvermerk gemäß § 51 Absatz 1 Bundesmeldegesetzeingetragen ist. Wer das Wählerverzeichnis für unrichtig oder unvollständig hält, kann innerhalb der Einsichtsfrist Einspruch bei der Gemeindebehörde einlegen.  

Ist eine Person zu Unrecht nicht in ein Wählerverzeichnis eingetragen, und ist eine Ergänzung nicht mehr möglich, so erhält sie auf Antrag einen Wahlschein.  

Wahlberechtigte, die – etwa infolge eines Umzuges kurz vor der Wahl - irrtümlich in mehreren Wählerverzeichnissen geführt werden, dürfen von ihrem Wahlrecht nur einmal Gebrauch machen.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Bundestagswahl:

§ 14 Absatz 4 BWG
§ 17 BWG
§§ 14 - 24 BWO

Europawahl:

§ 6 Absatz 4 EuWG
§ 4 EuWG i.V. m. § 17 BWG
§§ 14 - 18 EuWO

Stand: 1. Juni 2018