Bundestag election 2021

Germans abroad

Only persons listed in a voters’ register may vote. Germans staying abroad who do not have a registered domicile in Germany are called Germans expatriate. They are not automatically entered into a voters’ register. If Germans expatriate wish to participate in Bundestag elections, they have to submit a written application for entry into the voters’ register before each election.

The official forms are not available yet. Therefore, applications cannot be submitted yet.

You will find the application form and instructions for completing it about six months before election day on the website of the Federal Returning Officer.

If you would like to be informed of the exact election date, you may register with the Federal Foreign Office to be on a ‘List of Germans’ and provide an e-mail address: https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/de/-krisenvorsorgeliste/387662

 

Only temporarily abroad?

Germans who stay abroad temporarily (for instance while on a longer vacation) and still have a registered domicile in Germany will be entered ex officio into the voters’ register of their municipality. They may exercise their right to vote by postal ballot.

Bundestagswahl 2021

Deutsche im Ausland

Wählen kann nur, wer in ein Wählerverzeichnis eingetragen ist. Deutsche im Ausland, die nicht in Deutschland gemeldet sind, bezeichnet man auch als Auslandsdeutsche. Sie werden nicht von Amts wegen in ein Wählerverzeichnis eingetragen. Wollen Auslandsdeutsche an Bundestagswahlen teilnehmen, müssen sie vor jeder Wahl einen schriftlichen Antrag auf Eintragung in das für sie zuständige Wählerverzeichnis stellen.

Die amtlichen Formblätter liegen derzeit noch nicht vor. Eine Antragstellung ist deshalb noch nicht möglich!

Das Antragsformular sowie ein Merkblatt mit Ausfüllhinweisen werden Sie etwa sechs Monate vor dem Wahltermin auf der Homepage des Bundeswahlleiters finden.

Um über den konkreten Wahltermin informiert zu werden, besteht die Möglichkeit, sich beim Auswärtigen Amt in eine „Deutschenliste“ eintragen zu lassen und eine E-Mail-Adresse zu hinterlegen: https://www.auswaertiges-amt.de/de/-krisenvorsorgeliste/387662

 

Nur vorübergehend im Ausland?

Deutsche, die sich vorübergehend – zum Beispiel während eines längeren Urlaubs – im Ausland aufhalten und nach wie vor in Deutschland gemeldet sind, werden von Amts wegen in das Wählerverzeichnis ihrer Gemeinde eingetragen. Sie können ihr Wahlrecht durch Briefwahl ausüben.