Services

Parties

Pursuant to Section 2 of the Law on Political Parties, parties are associations of citizens which set out to exert influence either permanently or for longer periods of time on the formation of the political will at federal or Land level and participate in the representation of the people in the German Bundestag or a Land parliament, provided that they offer sufficient guarantee of the sincerity of their aims in the general character of their circumstances and attendant conditions, particularly with regard to the size and strength of their organization, the number of inscribed members and their conduct in public. Their internal organization must be in line with democratic principles. Only natural persons may be members of a party.

Political parties are freely established associations of persons. Generally, they are organised as associations without legal capacity on the basis of civil law and in keeping with the legal provisions governing associations contained in the Civil Code. For a political party to be founded as an association with legal capacity, that party additionally has to be entered in the Register of Associations. More detailed information on the subject is provided by the Registration Courts.

An association shall lose its legal status as a party if for a period of six years it has failed to participate in either a Bundestag election or an election to a Land parliament with a list of candidates of its own.

Political associations are not deemed to be parties if the majority of their members or the majority of their executive committee members are aliens or if their headquarters or registered seats of business are located outside the purview of the Law on Political Parties.

Pursuant to Section 6 (3) of the Law on Political Parties, the executive committee of a party must inform the Federal Returning Officer of the party’s statutes and program, the names of the party’s executive committee members and the regional branches, stating their duties, the dissolution of the party or of a regional branch. For the parties and political associations which have filed party documents with the Federal Returning Officer please refer to our website. The filing of the documents does not, however, automatically entail the recognition of the association as a political party or establish any right of admission to elections.

Prior to every Bundestag election, the Federal Electoral Committee shall establish, for all electoral bodies and not later than the 79th day before the election, which political associations shall be recognized as parties because only parties may submit Land lists for Bundestag elections.

The party privilege laid down in Article 21 of the Basic Law protects political parties as regards their existence and their activities; parties may be prohibited only by the Federal Constitutional Court.

Legal bases

Article 21 of the Basic Law (GG)
Sections 2, 6 of the Law on Political Parties (PartG)
Section 18 (4) no. 2 of the Federal Elections Act (BWG)

Last update: 1 October 2014

Service

Parteien

Nach § 2 Parteiengesetz (PartG) sind Parteien Vereinigungen von Bürgern, die dauernd oder für längere Zeit für den Bereich des Bundes oder eines Landes auf die politische Willensbildung Einfluss nehmen und an der Vertretung des Volkes im Deutschen Bundestag oder einem Landtag mitwirken wollen, wenn sie nach dem Gesamtbild der tatsächlichen Verhältnisse, insbesondere nach Umfang und Festigkeit ihrer Organisation, nach der Zahl ihrer Mitglieder und nach ihrem Hervortreten in der Öffentlichkeit eine ausreichende Gewähr für die Ernsthaftigkeit dieser Zielsetzung bieten. Ihre innere Ordnung muss demokratischen Grundsätzen entsprechen. Mitglieder einer Partei können nur natürliche Personen sein.

Parteien sind frei gebildete Personenvereinigungen, die sich in der Regel auf der Basis des privaten Rechts nach den vereinsrechtlichen Regelungen des Bürgerlichen Gesetzbuches als nichtrechtsfähiger Verein organisieren. Die Gründung einer Partei als rechtsfähiger Verein verlangt zusätzlich noch eine Eintragung in das Vereinsregister. Nähere Auskünfte hierüber erteilen die Registergerichte.

Eine Vereinigung verliert ihre Rechtsstellung als Partei, wenn sie sechs Jahre lang weder an einer Bundestagswahl noch an einer Landtagswahl mit eigenen Wahlvorschlägen teilgenommen hat.

Politische Vereinigungen sind nicht Parteien, wenn ihre Mitglieder oder die Mitglieder ihres Vorstandes in der Mehrheit Ausländer sind oder ihr Sitz oder ihre Geschäftsleitung sich außerhalb des Geltungsbereiches des Parteiengesetz befindet.

Der Vorstand einer Partei hat nach § 6 Absatz 3 PartG dem Bundeswahlleiter Satzung und Programm der Partei, Namen der Vorstandsmitglieder der Partei und der Landesverbände mit Angabe ihrer Funktionen, Auflösung der Partei oder eines Landesverbandes mitzuteilen. Die Parteien und politischen Vereinigungen, die beim Bundeswahlleiter Parteiunterlagen hinterlegt haben, sind in unserem Internetangebot zu finden. Mit der Hinterlegung der Unterlagen ist jedoch nicht die Zuerkennung des Parteistatus und das Recht auf Zulassung zu Wahlen verbunden.

Da bei Bundestagswahlen nur Parteien Landeslisten einreichen können, stellt der Bundeswahlausschuss vor jeder Bundestagswahl spätestens am 79. Tag vor der Wahl für alle Wahlorgane verbindlich fest, welche politischen Vereinigungen als Parteien anzuerkennen sind.

Durch das Parteienprivileg des Artikel 21 GG sind Parteien in ihrem Bestand und ihrer Tätigkeit geschützt und können nur durch das Bundesverfassungsgericht verboten werden.

Rechtsgrundlagen

Art. 21 GG
§ 2, § 6 PartG
§ 18 Abs. 4 Nr. 2 BWG

Stand: 1. Oktober 2014