Electoral statistics

The statistical analysis of elections is, on the one hand, the analysis of data available from the electoral bodies (= general electoral statistics) and the analysis of data stemming from the official ballot papers with an imprint indicating the sex and age of the voters (= representative electoral statistics) on the other hand.

The fundamental principle of all electoral statistics is to preserve the secrecy of the ballot.

General electoral statistics mainly cover the number of persons entitled to vote, of voters and non-voters, valid and invalid votes, and the number of votes cast for each nomination broken down by Länder, Bundestag constituencies, towns not attached to an administrative district and rural districts, municipalities and polling districts. Representative electoral statistics serve to provide data in representatively selected polling districts on the sex and age structure of persons eligible to vote and of voters, taking into account their votes for individual nominations. It serves the need for information in many areas of our society because it provides information on the pattern of voting, i.e., the voter turnout and voting in different groups of the population.

The compilation of representative electoral statistics was suspended in the 1994 Bundestag Election by the Law enacted on 28 September 1994 (Federal Law Gazette I, p. 2734) and in the 1998 Bundestag Election by the Law enacted on 25 August 1998 (Federal Law Gazette I, p. 2430).

In keeping with the Law on the general and representative electoral statistics for the election to the German Bundestag and the election of the members to the European Parliament from the Federal Republic of Germany (Law on Electoral Statistics) of 21 May 1999 (Federal Law Gazette I, p. 1023) amended by the Law enacted on 27 April 2013 (Federal Law Gazette I, p. 962), representative electoral statistics have again been compiled since the 2002 Bundestag Election. The Law on Electoral Statistics has been applied in European elections in 1999 for the first time.

The rules set forth in the Law on Electoral Statistics stipulate that the previous practice shall be legally binding; they are a more specific legal basis for a statistical analysis of elections than the provisions on statistics set forth in the Federal Elections Act and the Federal Electoral Regulations or the European Elections Act and the European Electoral Regulations, which were repealed by the Law on Electoral Statistics.

The 2002 Bundestag Election and the 2004 European Election are the first elections in which postal voters were also covered by representative electoral statistics to avoid distortions.


General electoral statistics

General electoral statistics document the election results determined and ascertained by the electoral bodies and the general information obtained in the process.

The results of both Bundestag and European elections can be processed and analysed in detail by this statistics. The focus of electoral statistics is on the distribution of valid votes among parties in the country as a whole and in the individual regions (municipalities, districts, constituencies) on the one hand, and on general studies of the persons entitled to vote, the voter turnout at the polls, polling card voters, non-voters and persons casting an invalid vote on the other.

The picture obtained by analysing this kind of data is complemented by comparative figures from previous elections. For this purpose, the absolute numbers as well as the relative numbers (percentages) of each election year are compared. For clarification, average numbers, tendencies etc. are calculated. Changes from one election to another are established as percentages and percentage points (difference between the percentage figures). Candidates and elected candidates are also analysed statistically, this is done in separate analyses by nominations. These statistics provide information, for example, on age and sex and on the occupational group to which the candidates belong.


Representative electoral statistics

The secrecy of the ballot and thus data protection are guaranteed.

The statistical analysis of elections is restricted by the requirement to preserve the secrecy of the ballot. Any violation of the secrecy of the ballot is precluded. The method employed in ascertaining the votes cast by men and women leaves no room for a violation of the secrecy of the ballot. Although the bodies counting the votes may establish, for instance, how many men and women of each of the six age groups formed voted for a certain party, it is impossible to reach any conclusion on how any individuals have cast their votes because there is a large number of people in each age group of men and women. The ballot paper in the representatively selected polling districts merely has an imprint indicating the sex of the voter and assigning him or her to one of the six age groups and thus contains no personal data for that would be in contradiction with the secrecy of the ballot. The survey is anonymous and intended to serve statistical purposes only. The voters’ registers and the marked ballot papers must not be matched. The polling districts selected for the purposes of representative electoral statistics must have at least 400 persons entitled to vote and the postal ballot districts selected must have a minimum of 400 voters.


How are representative polling districts chosen?

From the approximately 90,000 polling districts (including postal ballot districts), roughly 2,500 polling districts for ballot-box voting and approximately 350 postal ballot districts are selected at random for the purposes of representative electoral statistics of Bundestag and European elections. This ensures that the polling districts chosen are representative of the entire electoral area and of the individual Länder. The districts are selected by the Federal Returning Officer in co-operation with the Land returning officers and the statistical offices of the Länder.

Who analyses the data?

The data collected on the basis of representative electoral statistics are analysed by the statistical offices of the Länder and the Federal Statistical Office. The data gathered from the districts which are contained in the random sample are first extrapolated for each Land to obtain the total number of persons entitled to vote and of voters. The extrapolated figures for each Land are then aggregated to establish the result for the federal territory, which is published for the federal territory and the Länder. The data can also be made available to individual municipalities where representative statistics have been compiled so that they can publish aggregate results. In order to protect the secrecy of the ballot, results for individual polling districts contained in the random sample must not be released.

What data are collected?

The turnout at the polls of male and female persons eligible to vote and male and female voters is counted in the polling districts of the random sample according to the following ten age groups using the voters’ registers:

  • under 21
  • 21 to 24
  • 25 to 29
  • 30 to 34
  • 35 to 39
  • 40 to 44
  • 45 to 49
  • 50 to 59
  • 60 to 69
  • 70 and over

The votes cast by men and women for the individual parties is analysed for the following six age groups:

  • under 25
  • 25 to 34
  • 35 to 44
  • 45 to 59
  • 60 to 69
  • 70 and over

The votes cast are counted on the basis of official ballot papers with differentiating imprint (man, woman, age group according to year of birth).

Legal bases

Sections 1 to 8 of the Law on Electoral Statistics (WStatG)

Last update: 1 January 2015

Service

Wahlstatistik

Bei den wahlstatistischen Auswertungen handelt es sich einerseits um die Auswertung von Daten, die bei den Wahlorganen anfallen (= allgemeine Wahlstatistik) und andererseits um eine Auswertung von Daten, die sich aus den amtlichen Stimmzetteln mit Unterscheidungsaufdruck nach Geschlecht und Alter ergeben (= repräsentative Wahlstatistik).

Oberster Grundsatz jeglicher Wahlstatistik ist die Wahrung des Wahlgeheimnisses.

Die allgemeine Wahlstatistik erfasst im Wesentlichen die Zahl der Wahlberechtigten, der Wähler, der Nichtwähler, der gültigen und ungültigen Stimmen sowie der Stimmen für die einzelnen Wahlvorschläge, gegliedert nach Ländern, Bundestagswahlkreisen, kreisfreien Städten bzw. Landkreisen, Gemeinden und Wahlbezirken. Die repräsentative Wahlstatistik ermittelt in repräsentativ ausgewählten Wahlbezirken Angaben über die Geschlechts- und Altersgliederung der Wahlberechtigten und Wähler unter Berücksichtigung ihrer Stimmabgabe für die einzelnen Wahlvorschläge. Sie dient dem Informationsbedarf in vielen Bereichen unserer Gesellschaft, weil sie Aufschluss über das Wahlverhalten, das heißt die Wahlbeteiligung und die Stimmabgabe verschiedener Bevölkerungsgruppen gibt.

Für die Bundestagswahl 1994 wurde die repräsentative Wahlstatistik durch Gesetz vom 28. September 1994 (BGBl I S. 2734), für die Bundestagswahl 1998 durch Gesetz vom 25. August 1998 (BGBl. I S. 2430) ausgesetzt.

Seit der Bundestagswahl 2002 wird auf Grund der Einführung des Gesetzes über die allgemeine und die repräsentative Wahlstatistik bei der Wahl zum Deutschen Bundestag und bei der Wahl der Abgeordneten des Europäischen Parlaments aus der Bundesrepublik Deutschland (Wahlstatistikgesetz – WStatG) vom 21. Mai 1999 (BGBl. I S. 1023), zuletzt geändert durch Gesetz vom 27. April 2013 (BGBl. I S. 962), wieder eine repräsentative Wahlstatistik durchgeführt. Bei Europawahlen wurde das WStatG erstmals 1999 angewendet. Die Regelungen des WStatG schreiben die bisher geübte Praxis rechtsverbindlich fest und bilden eine präzisere rechtliche Grundlage für wahlstatistische Erhebungen als die durch das WStatG aufgehobenen wahlstatistischen Vorschriften des Bundeswahlgesetzes und der Bundeswahlordnung bzw. des Europawahlgesetzes und der Europawahlordnung.

Seit der Bundestagswahl 2002 bzw. der Europawahl 2004 werden zur Vermeidung von Verzerrungen erstmals die Briefwähler in die repräsentative Wahlstatistik mit einbezogen.

 

Allgemeine Wahlstatistik

Die allgemeine Wahlstatistik dokumentiert die von den Wahlorganen ermittelten und festgestellten Wahlergebnisse und die dabei anfallenden allgemeinen Informationen.

Die Ergebnisse sowohl der Bundestags- wie Europawahlen können durch diese Statistik eingehend ausgewertet und analysiert werden. Hauptgegenstand der Wahlstatistik sind einmal die Untersuchung, wie sich die gültigen Stimmen auf die Parteien im Land und regional gegliedert (Gemeinden, Kreise, Wahlkreise) verteilen, zum anderen die allgemeinen Untersuchungen über Wahlberechtigte, Wahlbeteiligung, Wahlscheinwähler, Nichtwähler und Falschwähler. 

Das Bild dieser Aussagen rundet sich durch Heranziehung der Vergleichszahlen vorangegangener Wahlen ab. Zu diesem Zweck werden sowohl die absoluten Zahlen als auch die Verhältniszahlen (Prozentzahlen) der einzelnen Wahljahre einander gegenübergestellt. Durchschnittszahlen, Trends usw. werden zur Verdeutlichung ermittelt. Veränderungen von Wahl zu Wahl werden prozentual und in Prozentpunkten (Unterschied zwischen den Prozentzahlen) festgehalten. Die Wahlbewerber und Gewählten werden – getrennt nach Wahlvorschlägen – statistisch ausgewertet. Aus dieser Statistik lässt sich zum Beispiel Alter und Geschlecht sowie Berufsgruppenzugehörigkeit der Bewerber ersehen.

 

Repräsentative Wahlstatistik

Wahlgeheimnis und damit Datenschutz gewährleistet!

Die wahlstatistischen Erhebungen finden ihre Grenzen in dem Erfordernis der Wahrung des Wahlgeheimnisses. Eine Verletzung des Wahlgeheimnisses ist ausgeschlossen. Die Methode der Feststellung der Stimmabgabe der Männer und Frauen lässt keine Verletzung des Wahlgeheimnisses zu. Zwar können die die Auszählung durchführenden Organe beispielsweise feststellen, wie viele Frauen oder Männer einer jeden der sechs gebildeten Altersgruppen eine bestimmte Partei gewählt haben, da aber zu jeder Altersgruppe der Männer und Frauen zahlreiche Personen gehören, können daraus keinerlei Anhaltspunkte für die Stimmabgabe einer Einzelperson gewonnen werden. Der Stimmzettel in den repräsentativ ausgewählten Wahlbezirken enthält lediglich den Unterscheidungsaufdruck nach Geschlecht und sechs Altersgruppen, also keine personenbezogenen Daten; denn das würde im Widerspruch zum Wahlgeheimnis stehen. Die Erhebung erfolgt in anonymer Form und ist ausschließlich für statistische Zwecke vorgesehen. Eine Zusammenführung von Wählerverzeichnissen und gekennzeichneten Stimmzetteln ist unzulässig. Die für die repräsentative Wahlstatistik ausgewählten Urnenwahlbezirke müssen mindestens 400 Wahlberechtigte und die ausgewählten Briefwahlbezirke mindestens 400 Wähler aufweisen.

 

Wie werden die repräsentativen Wahlbezirke ausgewählt?

Aus den rund 90.000 Wahlbezirken (inklusive Briefwahlbezirken) werden für die repräsentative Wahlstatistik der Bundestags- bzw. der Europawahl rund 2.500 Urnenwahlbezirke und etwa 350 Briefwahlbezirke zufällig ausgewählt. Damit wird erreicht, dass die ausgewählten Wahlbezirke für die Gesamtheit des Wahlgebietes und für die einzelnen Bundesländer repräsentativ sind. Die Auswahl der Wahlbezirke erfolgt durch den Bundeswahlleiter in Zusammenarbeit mit den Landeswahlleitern und Statistischen Landesämtern. 

Von wem wird ausgewertet?

Die Daten aus der repräsentativen Wahlstatistik werden von den Statistischen Landesämtern und vom Statistischen Bundesamt ausgewertet. Die aus den Stichprobenwahlbezirken gewonnenen Daten werden zunächst länderweise auf die Totalzahlen der Wahlberechtigten und Wähler hochgerechnet. Aus den hochgerechneten Länderergebnissen wird dann durch Zusammenfassung das Ergebnis für das Bundesgebiet ermittelt und für den Bund und die Länder veröffentlicht. Aber auch einzelnen Gemeinden, in denen eine repräsentative Wahlstatistik durchgeführt wird, können die Ergebnisse zu einer zusammengefassten Veröffentlichung überlassen werden. Zum Schutz des Wahlgeheimnisses dürfen keine Ergebnisse für einzelne Stichprobenwahlbezirke veröffentlicht werden. 

Was wird erfasst?

Die Wahlbeteiligung der männlichen und weiblichen Wahlberechtigten und Wähler wird in den Stichprobenwahlbezirken nach folgenden zehn Altersgruppen aus den Wählerverzeichnissen ausgezählt:

  • unter 21
  • 21 - 24
  • 25 - 29
  • 30 - 34
  • 35 - 39
  • 40 - 44
  • 45 - 49
  • 50 - 59
  • 60 - 69
  • 70 und mehr

Die Untersuchung der Stimmabgabe der Männer und Frauen für die einzelnen Parteien erfolgt für folgende sechs Altersgruppen:

  • unter 25
  • 25 - 34
  • 35 - 44
  • 45 - 59
  • 60 - 69
  • 70 und mehr

Grundlage der Auszählungen über die Stimmabgabe ist die Ausgabe von amtlichen Stimmzetteln mit Unterscheidungsaufdruck (Mann, Frau, Geburtsjahresgruppe).

Rechtsgrundlagen

§§ 1 - 8 WStatG

Stand: 1. Januar 2015