European Parliament election 2019

Rural and urban districts

The electoral area is the territory of the Federal Republic of Germany. In contrast to Bundestag elections, there are no constituencies in European Parliament elections. In accordance with the European Elections Act, district and town returning officers have to be appointed in the rural districts and towns not attached to an administrative district (“urban districts”) only for organisational reasons, for instance to establish the election results. Consequently, it is not possible in European elections to submit nominations of candidates at constituency level. The rural and urban districts as such have no bearing upon the way in which the European Parliament is composed of members.

According to the official List of Municipalities of the Federal Statistical Office, there currently are 294 rural districts and 107 urban districts in the Federal Republic of Germany.

On the internet and in the relevant publications, the Federal Returning Officer provides data and results of the European Parliament election from this administrative level. The numbers assigned to the rural and urban districts are the five-digit codes of the official List of Municipalities.

 

Map of districts


Verwaltungskarte Deutschland zum Download
File size: 815.84 kB

© GeoBasis-DE / BKG 2019


Maps and geometric data for further use in geographical information systems can be obtained in various formats from the Federal Agency for Cartography and Geodesy and the Service Centre of the Federal Government for Geo-Information and Geodesy.

For data on the rural and urban districts and the municipalities assigned to these districts please refer to the List of Municipalities of the Federal Statistical Office.

Europawahl 2019

Kreise und kreisfreie Städte

Wahlgebiet ist das Gebiet der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Anders als bei Bundestagswahlen gibt es bei Europawahlen keine Wahlkreise. Lediglich aus organisatorischen Gründen – u. a. zur Feststellung der Wahlergebnisse – sind gemäß des Europawahlgesetzes in den Kreisen und kreisfreien Städten Kreiswahl- bzw. Stadtwahlleitungen einzurichten. Demnach können bei Europawahlen auch keine Wahlvorschläge auf Ebene der „Wahlkreise“ eingereicht werden. Die Kreise und kreisfreien Städte haben für die Zusammensetzung der Abgeordneten für das Europäische Parlament keine eigenständige Relevanz.

In der Bundesrepublik Deutschland gibt es nach dem amtlichen Gemeindeverzeichnis des Statistischen Bundesamtes derzeit 294 Kreise bzw. Landkreise und 107 kreisfreie Städte bzw. Stadtkreise.

Der Bundeswahlleiter stellt in seinem Internetangebot sowie in seinen Veröffentlichungen Daten und Ergebnisse der Europawahl ab Ebene der Kreise und kreisfreien Städte dar. Die verwendete Nummerierung der Kreise und kreisfreien Städte entspricht dem fünfstelligen Schlüssel aus dem amtlichen Gemeindeverzeichnis.

 

Karte der Kreise und kreisfreien Städten

 

Verwaltungskarte Deutschland zum Download
Dateigröße: 815,84 kB

© GeoBasis-DE / BKG 2019


Karten sowie Geometrien für die Weiterverwendung in Geoinformationssystemen können in verschiedenen Formaten beim Bundesamt für Kartographie und Geodäsie sowie beim Dienstleistungszentrum des Bundes für Geoinformation und Geodäsie bezogen werden.

Daten zu den Kreisen und kreisfreien Städten sowie eine Zuordnung der Gemeinden zu den Kreisen bzw. Landkreisen sind im Gemeindeverzeichnis des Statistischen Bundesamtes ersichtlich.