Bundestag election 2017

Delimitation of constituencies

The territory of the Federal Republic of Germany is currently subdivided into 299 constituencies. The breakdown of the territory into constituencies for the elections to the 19th German Bundestag is laid down in the Annex to Article 1 of the Twenty-third Law amending the Federal Elections Act (BWG) of 3 May 2016 (Federal Law Gazette I page 1062) – only available in German. It entered into force on 10 May 2016.

The need to alter the distribution of constituencies among Länder and redraw the boundaries of individual constituencies results, among others, from the provisions of Section 3 (1), first sentence, nos. 2, 3 and 5 of the Federal Elections Act. They stipulate that the number of constituencies in the individual Länder must correspond as far as possible to their share of the population. The population of a constituency should not deviate from the average population of all constituencies by more than 15 per cent in either direction. Where the deviation is greater than 25 per cent, the boundaries must be redrawn. The basis of these calculations is the German population irrespective of their age. The boundaries of municipalities, districts and towns not attached to a municipal district should be adhered to where possible when constituency boundaries are defined.

Compared with the former structure, the legislator has redrawn the boundaries of 34 constituencies for the 2017 Bundestag Election on the basis of the territory as at 29 February 2016. The changes are as follows:

Constituencies have consecutive numbers. As the number of constituencies was reduced by one in Thüringen and increased by one in Bayern, the constituency numbers of many constituencies had to change. 

Accordingly, the 299 constituencies are distributed among the 16 Länder as follows:

Land Constituency number Number of constituencies
Schleswig-Holstein 1 to 11 11
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 12 to 17 6
Hamburg 18 to 23 6
Niedersachsen 24 to 53 30
Bremen 54 and 55 2
Brandenburg 56 to 65 10
Sachsen-Anhalt 66 to 74 9
Berlin 75 to 86 12
Nordrhein-Westfalen 87 to 150 64
Sachsen 151 to 166 16
Hessen 167 to 188 22
Thüringen 189 to 196 8
Rheinland-Pfalz 197 to 211 15
Bayern 212 to 257 46
Baden-Württemberg 258 to 295 38
Saarland 296 to 299 4

 

Map of constituencies for the elections to the 19th German Bundestag

The multi-coloured “Map of constituencies for the elections to the 19th German Bundestag” presents the delimitation of constituencies which will be valid at the next Bundestag election. It shows the numbers and boundaries of all constituencies and their composition of administrative districts and towns not attached to an administrative district and, separately, the delimitation of constituencies of those large cities which are subdivided into several constituencies. This map may be ordered as a print in DIN A1 format at EUR 9.80 quoting order number 1051100-17900-1 from

IBRo Versandservice GmbH
Bereich Statistisches Bundesamt
Kastanienweg 1
18184 Roggentin
Germany
tel.: +49 38204 66543
fax: +49 38204 66919
e-mail: destatis@ibro.de.

See also: Downloads

Bundestagswahl 2017

Wahlkreiseinteilung

Das Bundesgebiet ist derzeit in 299 Wahlkreise eingeteilt. Die Einteilung des Wahlgebietes in Wahlkreise für die Wahl zum 19. Deutschen Bundestag ist in der Anlage zu Artikel 1 des Dreiundzwanzigsten Gesetzes zur Änderung des Bundeswahlgesetzes (BWG) vom 3. Mai 2016 (BGBl. I S. 1062) beschrieben. Sie ist seit dem 10. Mai 2016 in Kraft getreten.

Die Notwendigkeit der Umverteilung von Wahlkreisen zwischen den Ländern sowie der Neuabgrenzung einzelner Wahlkreise resultiert unter anderem aus der gesetzlichen Regelung des § 3 Absatz 1 Satz 1 Nummern 2, 3 und 5 BWG. Danach muss die Zahl der Wahlkreise in den einzelnen Ländern deren Bevölkerungsanteil soweit wie möglich entsprechen und soll die Bevölkerungszahl eines Wahlkreises nicht mehr als 15 vom Hundert nach oben oder unten von der durchschnittlichen Bevölkerungszahl der Wahlkreise abweichen. Beträgt die Abweichung mehr als 25 vom Hundert, ist eine Neuabgrenzung vorzunehmen. Maßgeblich hierfür ist die Zahl der deutschen Bevölkerung unabhängig von ihrem Alter. Bei der Einteilung sollen die Grenzen der Gemeinden, Kreise und kreisfreien Städte nach Möglichkeit eingehalten werden.

Für die Bundestagswahl 2017 hat der Gesetzgeber auf der Grundlage des Gebietsstandes vom 29. Februar 2016 gegenüber der bisherigen Wahlkreiseinteilung insgesamt 34 Wahlkreise neu abgegrenzt. Folgende Änderungen haben sich dabei ergeben:

Der Verlust beziehungsweise der Gewinn eines Wahlkreises in Thüringen beziehungsweise in Bayern führt wegen der fortlaufenden Nummerierung der Bundestagswahlkreise bei einer Vielzahl von Wahlkreisen zu einer Änderung der Wahlkreisnummer.

Land Wahlkreis-Nr. Anzahl Wahlkreise
Schleswig-Holstein 1 bis 11 11
Mecklenburg-Vorpommern 12 bis 17 6
Hamburg 18 bis 23 6
Niedersachsen 24 bis 53 30
Bremen 54 und 55 2
Brandenburg 56 bis 65 10
Sachsen-Anhalt 66 bis 74 9
Berlin 75 bis 86 12
Nordrhein-Westfalen 87 bis 150 64
Sachsen 151 bis 166 16
Hessen 167 bis 188 22
Thüringen 189 bis 196 8
Rheinland-Pfalz 197 bis 211 15
Bayern 212 bis 257 46
Baden-Württemberg 258 bis 295 38
Saarland 296 bis 299 4

 

Karte der Wahlkreise

Die mehrfarbige „Karte der Wahlkreise für die Wahl zum 19. Deutschen Bundestag“ stellt die zur kommenden Bundestagswahl gültige Wahlkreiseinteilung dar. Sie enthält die Nummern und Grenzen sämtlicher Wahlkreise mit ihrer Zusammensetzung aus Kreisen und kreisfreien Städten. Außerdem zeigt sie die Wahlkreiseinteilung derjenigen Großstädte, die in mehrere Wahlkreise aufgeteilt sind. Die Karte (DIN A1) kann unter der Bestellnummer 1051100-17900-1 zum Einzelpreis von EUR 9,80 zuzüglich Versandkosten erworben werden bei:

IBRo Versandservice GmbH
Bereich Statistisches Bundesamt
Kastanienweg 1
18184 Roggentin
Telefon: 038204 66543
Telefax: 038204 66919
E-Mail: destatis@ibro.de

Siehe auch: Downloads