European Parliament election 2019

Electoral system

The members of the European Parliament are elected in each member state by a system of proportional representation on the basis of lists or single transferable votes. The member states can permit preferential voting on the basis of lists in line with the terms they have specified.

In Germany, members are elected in accordance with the principles of proportional representation based on Land lists of candidates. There may be Land lists of candidates for individual Länder or one list for all Länder.

96 European Parliament members come from the Federal Republic of Germany. According to the decision of the European Council of 29 June 2018 Brexit will have no impact on this.

In German: Animationsfilm Wahlsystem

Click on “Play” to connect to YouTube. Google collects personal data and processes it for its own purposes. The Federal Returning Officer has no influence on the data processing by Google. YouTube’s terms of use and Google’s privacy policy apply.

Votes

Determination of results

Chart: Establishment of the election result
File size: 65.75 kB

Distribution of seats

Europawahl 2019

Das Wahlsystem

In jedem Mitgliedstaat werden die Mitglieder des Europäischen Parlaments nach dem Verhältniswahlsystem auf der Grundlage von Listen oder von übertragbaren Einzelstimmen gewählt. Die Mitgliedstaaten können Vorzugsstimmen auf der Grundlage von Listen nach den von Ihnen festgelegten Modalitäten zulassen.

In Deutschland erfolgt die Wahl nach den Grundsätzen der Verhältniswahl mit Listenwahlvorschlägen. Listenwahlvorschläge können für ein Land oder als gemeinsame Liste für alle Länder aufgestellt werden.

Auf die Bundesrepublik Deutschland entfallen 96 Abgeordnete des Europäischen Parlaments. Der Brexit hat nach dem Beschluss des Europäischen Rates vom 29. Juni 2018 hierauf keine Auswirkungen.

Animationsfilm Wahlsystem

Mit Klick auf „Video abspielen“ wird eine Verbindung zu YouTube hergestellt. Hierbei erhebt Google personenbezogene Daten und verarbeitet diese für eigene Zwecke. Der Bundeswahlleiter hat auf die Datenverarbeitung durch Google keinen Einfluss. Es gelten die Nutzungsbedingungen von YouTube und die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.

Stimmen

Ergebnisermittlung

Schaubild zur Ergebnisermittlung
Dateigröße: 67,75 kB

Sitzverteilung